Sticky Notes & Subway Therapy – Matthew “Levee” Chavez

THIS. THIS. THIS is what people need.

“When people are overflowing with emotion, help channel their energy into something good.

Subway Therapy is about making people smile, laugh, and feel less stress.  If someone wants to get something off their chest or has a burning question, I’m happy to be there for them. I believe that people grow and learn through dynamic conversation.”

dsc06480 dsc06494

“For the last several years I imagined going outside with a table and chairs to talk to people. I don’t know why, but that was always something I wanted to do.  What got me thinking in this specific direction first was the concept of absolution. How do people feel better when they feel bad? There are so many people walking around with extra emotional weight. I am very lucky to have family and friends that help me process events that happen in my life, but what if someone doesn’t have a family to turn to or friends to support them when they are in a bad way? What if they don’t have a community to be a part of, or access to therapy? This is a complicated problem. I’m certainly not the solution, but I want to contribute.”dsc06560 dsc06563

“Nine months ago, I sat with a book that people could write their secrets in, and I had a little sign that said Secret Keeper. More often than not, people would just talk to me instead of writing something down. It got pretty common to hear, “I feel so much better! This is great… like therapy.” I heard it enough that it stuck and six months ago, Subway Therapy was born.”dsc06576 dsc06633

“Keep in mind, I am not a licensed therapist. I am not a therapist of any kind. I have no obligation to keep what I hear confidential. I cannot provide professional advice, but I like to listen and when asked I give personal advice from my experience.”img_1673 img_1695 img_1732 dsc06503

“I look forward to our conversation,

Matthew “Levee” Chavez”

Leave a Reply

